Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 4.55.47 PM

We finished yesterday.

On Tuesday, we actually continued until 1900hrs at night, which only ended when opposing counsel objected to going on that night. There was a little bit of a discussion between her and the Judge, which I stayed well out of, although to be honest, I also wanted to go home. But no way was I getting in the middle of that bun fight.

We resumed yesterday, finishing with oral submissions at 1800hrs.

Opposing counsel was a Partner at one of NZ’s leading law firms. Her closing oral submissions, that were also written, ran to 50+ pages, very professionally presented, the whole 10 yards.

Mine by contrast were about 5 pages and at para 100, my numbering system imploded, so the alignment went about skew-wiff.

The actual oral submissions of opposing counsel talked about everything other than the direct issues in the case. They were very broad. They were professionally presented, but, they just avoided the narrow issues of the case.

My oral submissions were very narrow. I simply applied the law to the issues in the case. Hence the meagre 5 pages.

However, I win the case for 1 very important reason.

In the first morning break, as opposing counsel was taking orders for her team [yes, she had a team, taking notes etc] for coffee, I said, “and I’ll have a mocca…” I was being cheeky, but I said it with a straight face….

When she returned, I had a mocca…..I win.

sex_in_advertisin_29

